The leadership, guidance and longtime friendship our volunteers extend to the UCI Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing has positively changed the lives of our students, promoted the vision of our nursing school and continued to support innovative, nurse-led research.

Dean’s Cabinet 

Established June 12, 2019

Chair: Diane Drake

This distinguished group of community leaders serve as the senior advisory group to the dean of the school and the Office of Development in strategic planning and fundraising efforts. Additional roles include advocating for the nursing school dean and promoting the interests of UCI in the community, country and the world.

Their unwavering philanthropic support to assist the dean in successfully reaching fundraising goals has led to scholarship growth in all undergraduate and graduate programs.

  • John Conners
  • Diane Drake
  • Rev. Chineta Goodjoin
  • Sue Gross
  • Jennifer Johnson
  • Debra Mathias
  • The Honorable Eileen Moore
  • Judy Murphy 
  • Ellen Olshansky
  • James Irvine Swinden
  • Feizal Waffarn
  • Maureen Zehntner

Nurse Legacy Society

Established Nov. 18, 2019

President: Maureen Zehntner

The Nurse Legacy Society comprises retired nurse leaders who remain committed to the nursing profession. 

They support our students through personal endowments and the establishment of the Doctor of Nursing Practice endowment. They continue to engage in community outreach as they connect practicing and retired professional nurses to the vision of our school.

This group proves that once a nurse, always a nurse

  • Tania V. Bridgeman
  • Julie Boyle
  • Laura Bruzzone
  • Doreen Dann
  • Nancy Eagan
  • Sandra Longnecker
  • Debra Mathias
  • Mary Owen
  • Dorothy Tu
  • Cynthia Winner
  • Susanlee Wisotzkey
  • Ruthanne Wooten
  • Maureen Zehntner

Leadership Council

Established Oct. 18, 2010

President: Eleanor Weinstein

This long-standing committee has been the heart of the School of Nursing long before the program was established as a school in 2017. Their role evolves based the school’s vision and goals.

They are committed to supporting community health and our students.  One of their initiatives is funding the annual Nurse Scientist award through endowments and personal fundraising. Many members have also established personal endowments in honor of loved ones.

The council also provides annual scholarships to two high school students who apply to the Nursing Camp In Summer at UCI Irvine (NCIS:UCI).  

  • Eve Thompson
  • Sharon Leider
  • Mary Ann Gaid
  • Nancy Neudorf
  • Eleanor Weinstein
  • Richard (Dick) Ferree
  • Judy Corless
  • Dolores Grunigen
  • Shirlee Koons
  • Denise Giambalvo
  • Ruth Lott
  • June van den Noort
  • Ellen Lewis

UCI Behrens Nursing School Advisory Council

Established 2022

  • Stanely Behrens
  • Juliana Goswick
  • Christine Nakamoto
  • Adey Nyamathi
  • Dr. Simin Torabzadeh
  • Jordan Vander Poorten, CPA

For more information about our volunteer opportunities or to learn how you can change the life of a nursing student, please contact Juliana Goswick, Director of Development.