Calendar of Events

NEWS & EVENTS

NEWS
EVENTS
OUR IMPACT
Loading Events

Bioethics and Jainism: From Ahimsa to an Ethics of Carefulness with Brianne Donaldson, Shri Parshvanath Presidential Chair in Jain StudiesThe Center for Nursing Philosophy, co-sponsored by UCI Religious Studies, present Bioethics and Jainism: From Ahimsa to an Ethics of Carefulness with Brianne Donaldson, Shri Parshvanath Presidential Chair in Jain Studies at the UCI School of Humanities.

About the lecture

Dr. Donaldson writes:

“By following the evolution of medical treatment in the Jain tradition from antiquity to modernity, I trace a conceptual shift from consequences to carefulness in Jain ethics. I develop a Jain “ethics of carefulness” as an important philosophical adaptation rarely recognized in common representations of the Jain concept of nonviolence, or ahimsa.

Beyond prescriptive rules, an ethics of carefulness offers a distinct contribution to western normative bio/ethics, demanding a more robust account of pervasive life forms, of one’s desires and motivations, and of direct and indirect modes of harm.

I will conclude by considering an ethics of carefulness in relation to Jain views on modern reproductive ethics such as abortion and in vitro fertilization.”

Event date and time

May 21, 2021

10-11:30 a.m. Pacific

1-2:30 p.m. Eastern

6-7:30 p.m. UK