

The Sue & Bill Gross
School of Nursing
2021 Recognition Ceremony





Program



Welcoming Remarks

PhD Student Speaker

DNP Student Speaker

MS Student Speakers

BS Student Speakers

Pinning Recognition

Presentation of Graduates

Closing Remarks

# Founding Dean's Message

To our 2021 Graduates:



As the Founding Dean of the Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing, I am thrilled to congratulate our graduating Class of 2021. Having successfully navigated the most historic challenges of our times, the culmination of your professional degree is truly exceptional. I have been following your amazing accomplishments over the years, and feel honored that you have embraced the UCI School of Nursing as your foundation in nursing science, wherein our exceptional and dedicated faculty have prepared you well as you become catalysts in transforming health care for our nation.

As our School of Nursing is embedded in a legacy of promoting the health of families and communities, we take great pride in having played a role in your exciting future. No matter which specialty of nursing you choose to enter, you will have the opportunity to significantly promote health of the population in local, national, and global communities. As nurses, you are the leading voice in providing care through innovation and compassion to people from many walks of life. We urge you to find your passion, hone your talents, and nurture them so that you can shape the health of our nation to help end disparities and create healthy places to live, work, and play.

We look forward to hearing about your achievements, dreams, and the pursuit of further education. We are proud to see you join the ranks of notable UCI nursing alumni. Once again, my warmest congratulations to the Class of 2021!

Thank you for the honor of serving as your Dean,

adey Kyamath:

Adey Nyamathi, PhD, ANP, FAAN

Founding Dean and Distinguished Professor UCI Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing

## School of Nursing Faculty

Stephanie Au, MSN, APRN, FNP-C

Assistant Clinical Professor

Miriam Bender, PhD, RN

Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs,

Associate Professor

Nakia Best, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor

*Jill Berg, PhD, RN*Professor Emeritus

Dawn Bounds, PhD, PMHNP-BC

Assistant Professor

Sara Brown, PhD(c), EdD, MSN, RN

Associate Clinical Professor

*Mike Bueno, PhD(c), MSN*Assistant Clinical Professor

Leanne Burke, EdD, MSN, CNM, RNC-OB

Associate Clinical Professor

Candace Burton, PhD, RN, AFN-BC, AGN-BC, FNAP

**Associate Professor** 

Sarah Campbell, DNP(c), MS, APRN, FNP-C

Assistant Clinical Professor

Lorraine S. Evangelista, PhD, APRN, CNS, FAHA, FAAN

**Emeritus Professor** 

Michelle A. Fortier, PhD

Associate Professor

Yuqing Guo, PhD, RN

Associate Professor

E. Alison Holman, PhD, APRN, FNP, FAAN

Professor

Angela Jun, DNP, FNP-BC, ACHPN

Clinical Professor

Jung-Ah Lee, PhD, RN

Associate Professor

Maureen Movius, MN, APRN, CNS, CMSRN

Retired Professor

Ruth A. Mulnard, DNSc, RN

Associate Professor Emeritus

Tiffany K. Nielsen, DNP, APRN, FNP-C

Assistant Clinical Professor

Adey Nyamathi, PhD, ANP, FAAN

Founding Dean and Distinguished Professor

Ellen Olshansky, PhD, APRN, WHNP-BC, FAAN

**Professor Emeritus** 

Jung In Park, PhD, RN

**Assistant Professor** 

Nisa Patel, MS, FNP-C

**HS Clinical Instructor** 

Susanne J. Phillips, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, FAANP

Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs,

Clinical Professor

Melissa D. Pinto, PhD, RN, FSAHM, FAAN

Associate Professor

Amir Rahmani, PhD

Assistant Professor

Vanessa Rodriguez, MSN, APRN, FNP-C

HS Assistant Clinical Professor

Kathleen Saunders, MSN, APRN, CNS, CPN, PHN

Retired Associate Clinical Professor

Sanghyuk Shin, PhD

Associate Professor

Elizabeth Symanski, MS, APRN, FNP-C

HS Assistant Clinical Instructor Professor

Susan M. Tiso, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, FAANP

Retired Clinical Professor

Candice Whealon, MSN, APRN, FNP-C

HS Assistant Clinical Professor

#### Awards & Recognition

Elizabeth C. Tierney Nursing Scholarship

Chigozirim Rowland Chinedu

Tinjia Hwang

Ellen Olshansky Founding Director's Award

Danisha Jenkins

Feizel and Dorothy Waffarn MEPN Scholarship in Maternal and Child Health

Jackie Valera

Felix Schwarz Nursing Science Student Award

An Chac Helena Cuellar

Mary Hannacker Scholarship

Aryanna Dashtgerd

Jennifer Nguyen

Calvin Xu

Nursing Leadership Award

Sabrina Turallo Dela Roca

Aileen Fletcher

Suzanne Leider Nursing Award

Katie Teixeira

Megan Grace Bersamira

Chancellor's Award of Distinction

Sabrina Turallo Dela Roca Aileen Fletcher

Michelle Rafaela Heredia

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Research

Hannah Angel Vasquez

Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) Fellow

Calvin Xu

Helena Cuellar Katie

Katie Teixeira

Calvin Xu

Hannah Angel Vasquez

Eligible for Latin Honors

Miranda Apalategui Sophia Cos

Sophia Costa Aileen Fletcher Aryanna Dashtgerd Tinjia Hwang

Kyle Dorsett Calvin Xu

Phi Beta Kappa

2020 Recipient:

2021 Nominees:

Kyle Dorsett Thu Kate Vu

Michelle Rafaela Heredia

Graduate Division Eugene Cota-Robles Fellowship

Danisha Jenkins

Graduate Division Public Impact Fellowship

Danisha Jenkins

### Class Speakers & Representatives

Doctor of Philosophy Class Speaker

Danisha Jenkins

Doctor of Nursing Practice Representative & Speaker

Pat Patton

Master of Science Class Representatives & Speakers

Holly Borg & Anthony Limon

Bachelor of Science Class Representatives & Speakers

Sabrina Turallo Dela Roca & Abigael Reyes

# Candidates for Doctor of Nursing Practice Pat Patton Ashley Plummer

Candidates for Doctor of Philosophy

Dina Elias

Danisha Jenkins

#### Candidates for Master of Science

Alyssa Cortez Kafayat Adebiyi Priscilla Medina Stefanie Garcia Cindy S. Agus Toni Norton Claire Gilpin Katie Araya Jose Ruben Pedroza Megan Grace Bersamira Jasmine Hsu Quan Pham Dema Majdi Bitar Dalia Leon Juan Reyes Holly Borg Meagan Schuler Anthony Limon Jackie Valera Jonathan Oswaldo Cisneros Kelly Ma

#### Candidates for Bachelor of Science

Clara Anguiano

Miranda Apalategui

Lauren Bowen

An Chac

Phoebe Chen

Sharon Chi\*

Chigozirim Rowland Chinedu\*

MinJeong Cho

Sophia Costa\*

Kelley N. Cowan

Helena Cuellar\*

Aryanna Dashtgerd\*

Sabrina Turallo Dela Roca

Angela Louise Benito Domingo

Kyle Edward Dorsett

Aileen Fletcher

Eva Fong\*

Mikayla Hand

Michelle Rafaela Heredia

Joelle Ho

Tinjia Hwang

Alyssa Knight

Ha Lim (Kristine) Kwag

Kristina Vi Le

Sophia Li

Hannah Makowetski

Stephanie Gloria McClean\*

Patricia Mendoza

Zean Sheldon Noel C. Mojica

Bianca Grace Ang Mose

Maryam Naqvi

Jennifer Nguyen

Steven Le Nguyen

Tomas N. Parada

Jenny Esther Quintero

Sumerpreet Kaur Rai

Abigael Reyes

Jamelle Tan

Katie Teixeira

Hon-Nhien My Tran

Hannah Angel Vasquez

Anh Thu Vu

Thu Kate Vu\*

Rowan Wiley

Calvin Xu

Darcee Joy Young

\*Campuswide Honors Collegium



